AFJ opens submissions for 2018 Deals of the Year awards | Analysis | Airfinance Journal

AFJ opens submissions for 2018 Deals of the Year awards

Airfinance Journal is now taking submissions for its annual global Deals of the Year Awards, which recognise the most innovative transactions, teams and individuals in aviation finance in 2018.

Valued for their independence and transparency, our awards represent the market-leading deals rated on innovation, timing, size, complexity, ability to overcome obstacles and setting new industry benchmarks.

We have made several changes to the awards this year to streamline the process. For the first time, we are using an online system for submissions and judging. You can access the microsite here, to submit a deal and learn more about the awards process.

We have also expanded the external judging panel to nine leading executives in the air finance sector (see below), better reflecting the diversity of the industry. The judges will select the winners of all categories, except as noted below.

We hope you will find the website easy to use. However, if you have any additional queries about the system or awards process, please contact Jack Dutton, Airfinance Journal’s Editor, on

We have also introduced more awards this year, to better recognise the strongest deals in the aviation finance market. The awards this year are as follows:

Regional Awards

Asia-Pacific Deal of the Year

Middle East & Africa Deal of the Year

Europe Deal of the Year

Latin America Deal of the Year

North America Deal of the Year  

Global Product Awards

Bank Loan Deal of the Year

Export Credit Deal of the Year

Islamic Financing Deal of the Year

Tax Lease Deal of the Year

Operating Lease Deal of the Year

Structured Lease Deal of the Year

Engine Deal of the Year

Used Aircraft Deal of the Year

Equity Deal of the Year

M&A Deal of the Year

Restructuring of the Year

Lessor Unsecured Bond Deal of the Year

Airline Unsecured Bond Deal of the Year

ABS Deal of the Year

Special Awards 

News Event of the Year (selected by AFJ)

Airline of the Year (determined by highest ROIC in The Airline Analyst)

Overall Capital Markets Deal of the Year*

Innovative Deal of the Year* Editor’s Deal of the Year (selected by Jack Dutton, AFJ’s Editor)

Overall Deal of the Year*

* (short-list selected by AFJ based on above submissions; winner selected by judges)

Team Awards

Aviation Finance House of the Year

Lessor of the Year

Airline Treasury Team of the Year

Lessor Treasury Team of the Year

Individual Awards

Aviation Finance Person of the Year (selected by AFJ) 

Lifetime Achievement Award (selected by AFJ)

The judges this year are:

  • Amelia Anderson, former managing director and assistant treasurer, American Airlines Group, now co-founder and president of AWAR
  • Andrew Lockhart, partner, Baker McKenzie
  • Christian McCormick, managing director, global financing, CALC
  • Ian Reid, senior financial adviser, Philippine Airlines
  • John Slowik, member - board of directors and audit committee, Volaris
  • Nigel Taylor, SVP financing and guarantees, Airbus
  • Stephane Daillencourt, former chief executive officer, Asia Aviation Capital
  • Sybille Paehler, managing shareholder, Doric
  • Tim Myers, president, Boeing Capital

The judges will not vote in categories in which their current or former employers are nominated.

To qualify for entry, deals must have been closed and funded between 1 January and 31 December 2018. The deadline for nominations is 31 January 2019.

The awards will be presented at the Airfinance Journal Awards 2018 dinner to be held at the Metropolitan Club, New York, on Thursday 2 May.

For more information and to book a seat or table, contact Chris Gardner:

Most Popular

Related Data