AFJ announces 2016 Deals of the Year winners | Analysis | Airfinance Journal

AFJ announces 2016 Deals of the Year winners

Airfinance Journal has revealed the winners of 2016 Deals of the Year awards, which will take place at the New York Marriot Marquis on 17 May.

Now in its 21st year, the awards are an essential calendar fixture for airlines and the global aviation finance sector.  

The winners were selected by a judging panel of senior aviation finance executives, including Bertrand Grabowski (former board member and head of aircraft finance at DVB Bank), Jeff Knittel (president CIT Transportation & International Finance) and Norm Liu (former CEO and chairman of GECAS).

More than a 130 submissions were received for 92 deal categories, comprising 80 unique transactions valued at approximately $50 billion. The submissions were then narrowed down to three deals per category by Airfinance Journal's editorial and data experts before being presented to the judges.

Members of the judging panel recused themselves from deliberations relating to a category where their current or immediate past employer was short-listed. 


The 2016 Winners of the best industry deals:

Bank Loan Deal of the Year

Accipiter $1.2bn 7-year recourse financing of 43 aircraft

Export Credit Deal of the Year

Sun Express Exim-French Lease

Tax Lease Deal of the Year‎

Aeromexico JOLCO 1x787

Operating Lease Deal of the Year

IAFC/Saudia operating lease of 30xA320s + 20xA330s

Sale and Leaseback Deal of the Year

Etihad Natixis ADGM 2xA380

Equity Deal of the Year

BOC Aviation $1.13 billion IPO

M&A Deal of the Year

FedEx $4.8 billion purchase of TNT Express

Capital Markets Deal of the Year

Blackbird $1 billion ABS

Innovative Deal of the Year

Emirates EMP Korean E-note

Editor's Deal of the Year

Labrador $709 million ABS (GECAS)

Overall Deal of the Year

Bohai $7.6 billion Avolon acquisition


Individual and Team awards 

The industry has spoken and voted for the winners of Airfinance Journal’s individual and team awards through a publicly available “survey monkey” platform, which was open for submissions throughout the entire month of February. Winners of these prestigious awards will also be presented during the 2016 Deals of the Year ceremony.

Survey winners: 

‎Airline Treasury Team of the Year‎

American Airlines

Lessor Treasury Team of the Year


Aviation Woman of the Year

Amelia Anderson (American Airlines)

Aviation Young Person of the Year

Ahsan Gulabkhan (Virgin Atlantic)

Lifetime Achievement Award

Tom Budgett (BLP)

Most Improved Airline of 2016

United Airlines


To ensure a space or table at the 17 May Deals of the Year awards, please contact Chris Gardner:

Most Popular

Related Data